2011 Bowling PBA Mark Roth Plastic Ball Championship

The Mark Roth Plastic Ball Championship, which requires players to use identical “throwback” polyester ball technology, is named in honor of the PBA Hall of Famer who dominated the so-called plastic ball era, winning a PBA-record eight titles in 1978 followed by another seven-title season in 1979.

Roth’s total of 34 PBA Tour titles ranks fourth on the all-time list of PBA champions behind Walter Ray Williams Jr. (47), Earl Anthony (43) and Pete Weber (35).

201011PBAJeffCarter.jpg200910PBA17BrianZiesig2.jpgThe inaugural Plastic Ball Championship, held in Wheat Ridge, Colo., in 2009 was won by Jeff Carter (pictured left) of Springfield, Ill. Last year’s event, the first held in Roth’s honor, was contested in West Babylon, N.Y., and was won by Brian Ziesig (pictured right with Johnny Petraglia, left, and Mark Roth, right) of Levittown, N.Y., who became the first amateur ever to win a standard PBA Tour event.

The concept behind the plastic ball tournament is to put a premium on knowledge of changing lane conditions, subtle adjustments in hand positions and delivery techniques, and other skills rather than relying on advanced bowling ball technology.

“It’s definitely a totally different mindset because you can’t rely on technology,” said Carter, who won the 2009 Plastic Ball Championship by defeating Hall of Famer Pete Weber in the championship match, 235-213, for his first and only PBA Tour title.

“The emphasis moves from a reliance on technology to mechanics and being able to repeat the shots the way you want to. The adjustments you make are more subtle and have to come from your physical game. .


Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.